Welcome to MI6 Headquarters

This is the world's most visited unofficial James Bond 007 website with daily updates, news & analysis of all things 007 and an extensive encyclopaedia. Tap into Ian Fleming's spy from Sean Connery to Daniel Craig with our expert online coverage and a rich, colour print magazine dedicated to spies.

Learn More About MI6 & James Bond →

Bond producers Broccoli and Wilson to receive Thalberg award

13-Jun-2024 • Actor News

The Academy Governors will honor Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli with the esteemed Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award this year. The accolade, now presented as an Oscar statuette, recognizes producers whose body of work demonstrates a consistently high quality in motion picture production.

The awards will be presented at the Academy Governors Awards on November 17 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Ovation Hollywood.

The award was established in 1937 and was first presented at the 10th Academy Awards, in March 1938. Since 2009, it has been presented at the separate Governors Awards rather than at the main Academy Awards ceremony. The Award has been awarded 39 times to date. Cubby Broccoli was the recipient of the award back in 1981.

The award is named for Irving Thalberg, head of the Production Division of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, who developed the company's reputation for sophisticated films. The trophy itself is a bust of Thalberg rather than the familiar "Oscar" statuette. However, it is still counted as an "Honorary Oscar".

Wilson and Broccoli, the powerhouse producers behind the iconic James Bond franchise, have maintained the legacy of 007 through modern classics such as Casino Royale, Quantum Of Solace, Skyfall, Spectre, and No Time To Die. Their impressive filmography also includes notable titles like Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool, The Rhythm Section, and Till.

Significantly, Barbara Broccoli will be the second woman ever to receive the Thalberg Award, marking a historic moment in the Academy's recognition of exceptional talent in film production. It is also the first time a second generation producer has won the award. 

Open in a new window/tab