Welcome to MI6 Headquarters

This is the world's most visited unofficial James Bond 007 website with daily updates, news & analysis of all things 007 and an extensive encyclopaedia. Tap into Ian Fleming's spy from Sean Connery to Daniel Craig with our expert online coverage and a rich, colour print magazine dedicated to spies.

Learn More About MI6 & James Bond →

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger award nominations long list announced

02-Aug-2013 • Literary

Press Release
The longlist of contenders for the 2013 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award was revealed at the Crime Writers’ Association Gala Dinner last month. Seven titles will be whittled down to a shortlist of four later in the summer, and the winner will be announced as part of the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards in the autumn.

As Ian Fleming said, there is but one key ingredient for a good thriller: ‘one simply has to turn the page.’

Which of these page-turners will make it to the shortlist?

GHOSTMAN by Roger Hobbs (Transworld)
‘An assured and engaging novel which maintains suspense throughout and grips the reader to the very end.’

THE UNINVITED by Liz Jensen (Bloomsbury)
‘Hesketh is a brilliantly conceived and created narrator in this inventive and enthralling thriller.’

THE NECESSARY DEATH OF LEWIS WINTER by Malcolm Mackay (Pan Macmillan)
‘A remarkable insight into Glasgow’s criminal underworld – original, clever and written with a distinctive voice.’

RATLINES by Stuart Neville (Random House)
‘With a gripping plot and a colourful array of characters, this thriller masterfully evokes the tensions of post-war Ireland.’

THE SENTINEL by Mark Oldfield (Head of Zeus)
‘A very dark and chilling account of Spain under Franco, this novel is intensely atmospheric and a truly substantial work.’

THE POISON TIDE by Andrew Williams (Hachette)
‘An accomplished and intelligent spy novel, with a scrupulously well-researched and compelling plot.’

CAPITAL PUNISHMENT by Robert Wilson (Orion)
‘Teeming with action and suspense, this riveting thriller explores a dark, Dickensian cross-section of the capital.’

The CWA – like Ian Fleming’s first Bond novel, Casino Royale, – celebrates its Diamond Jubilee this year. The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award was introduced in 2002, and previous winners include Jeffery Deaver, Charles Cumming and Gillian Flynn.

Discuss this news here...

Open in a new window/tab