Welcome to MI6 Headquarters

This is the world's most visited unofficial James Bond 007 website with daily updates, news & analysis of all things 007 and an extensive encyclopaedia. Tap into Ian Fleming's spy from Sean Connery to Daniel Craig with our expert online coverage and a rich, colour print magazine dedicated to spies.

Learn More About MI6 & James Bond →

Casino Royale nominated for Costume Designers Guild award

13-Jan-2007 • Casino Royale

Fashion mag-set "The Devil Wears Prada" is among the Costume Designers Guild's nominees for contemporary film. Pic's Patricia Field joins Consolata Boyle for "The Queen," Nancy Steiner for "Little Miss Sunshine," Lindy Hemming for "Casino Royale" and Michael Wilkinson for "Babel" in the category - reports Variety.

The ninth annual awards ceremony, which honors excellence in costume design in film, television and commercials, will be held Feb. 17 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. Jane Kaczmarek will host.

Nominated for period film are Milena Canonero for "Marie Antoinette"; Sharen Davis, "Dreamgirls"; Chung Man Yee, "Curse of the Golden Flower"; Ngila Dickson, "The Illusionist"; and Penny Rose, "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest."

Nominees for fantasy film are Kym Barrett for "Eragon"; Renee April, "The Fountain"; Sammy Sheldon, "V for Vendetta"; Lala Huete, "Pan's Labyrinth"; and Judianna Makovsky, "X-Men: The Last Stand."

Sandra Bullock will receive the Swarovski President's Award, and "The Queen's" Helen Mirren will claim the distinguished actor nod.

Costume designers Patricia Norris and Grady Hunt will be honored with the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award and the Career Achievement in Television Award, respectively.

Telepic or miniseries nominees are Mike O'Neill for "Elizabeth I"; Julie Weiss, "Mrs. Harris"; Tom McKinley, "High School Musical"; Michael T. Boyd, "Into the West"; and Andrea Galer, "Bleak House."

Contemporary TV series nominees are Eduardo Castro for "Ugly Betty"; Catherine Adair, "Desperate Housewives"; Juliet Polcsa, "The Sopranos"; Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko, "Big Love"; and Amy Westcott, "Entourage."

Period/fantasy series nominees are April Ferry, "Rome"; Katherine Jane Bryant, "Deadwood"; and Patia Prouty and Maria Schicker for "Cold Case."

Discuss this news here...

Open in a new window/tab