Welcome to MI6 Headquarters

This is the world's most visited unofficial James Bond 007 website with daily updates, news & analysis of all things 007 and an extensive encyclopaedia. Tap into Ian Fleming's spy from Sean Connery to Daniel Craig with our expert online coverage and a rich, colour print magazine dedicated to spies.

Learn More About MI6 & James Bond →

`Quantum of Solace` nominated for five 2008 Satellite Awards

03-Dec-2008 • Quantum Of Solace

Getting a jump on rival awards groups, the International Press Academy announced its nominees Sunday for its 13th annual Satellite Awards - reports The Hollywood Reporter.

Vying for best motion picture drama are "The Reader," "Slumdog Millionaire," "Revolutionary Road," "Frost/Nixon," "Milk" and "Frozen River."

In the best comedy or musical motion picture category, the nominees are "Happy-Go-Lucky," "Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist," "Vicky Christina Barcelona," "Tropic Thunder," "In Bruges" and "Choke."

The group also announced its ten best films of 2008, citing, in alphabetical order, "Ballast," "Changeling," "Doubt," "The Dark Knight," "Frost/Nixon," "Frozen River," "Milk," "The Reader," "Revolutionary Road" and "Slumdog Millionaire."

`Quantum of Solace` was nominated in the following categories:

Original Score

David Arnold Quantum of Solace (Columbia Pictures)
Thomas Newman WALL-E (Pixar / Walt Disney Pictures)
John Powell Dr. Seuss' Horton Hears a Who! (Twentieth Century-Fox)
A.R. Rahman Slumdog Millionaire (Fox Searchlight)
David Hirschfelder Australia (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Danny Elfman Milk (Focus Features)

Original Song

"Another Way to Die" Quantum of Solace, Jack White (Columbia Pictures)
"If the World" Body of Lies, Guns N' Roses (Sony Pictures Classics)
"Down to Earth" WALL-E, Peter Gabriel (Walt Disney Studios)
"By the Boab Tree" Australia, Angela Little, Felix Meagher Baz Luhrmann, Anton Monsted, and Schuyler Weiss (Twentieth Century-Fox)
"Jaiho" Slumdog Millionaire, A.R. Rahman and Gulzar (Fox Searchlight)
"The Wrestler" The Wrestler, Bruce Springsteen (Fox Searchlight)

Vsual Effects

Chris Corbould, Kevin Tod Haug Quantum of Solace (Columbia Pictures)
John Nelson, Shane Mahan, Iron Man (Paramount Pictures / Marvel)
Dan Sudek, Ben Snow, Nick Davis, Chris Corbould, Tim Webber, The Dark Knight (Warner Brothers) Paul Franklin
Jeffrey A. Okun The Day the Earth Stood Still (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Chris Godfrey Australia (Twentieth Century-Fox)

Film Editing

Matt Chesse, Richard Pearson Quantum of Solace (Columbia Pictures)
Dan Lebental Iron Man (Paramount Pictures / Marvel)
Lee Smith The Dark Knight (Warner Brothers)
Dody Dorn, Michael McCusker Australia (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Chris Dickens Slumdog Millionaire (Fox Searchlight)
Daniel P. Hanley, Mike Hill Frost/Nixon (Universal Pictures)

Sound (Editing and Mixing)

Eddy Joseph, Mike Prestwood Smith, Quantum of Solace (Columbia Pictures)
Mark Taylor, Jimmy Boyle, Martin Cantwell
Christopher Boyes Iron Man (Paramount Pictures / Marvel)
Richard King The Dark Knight (Warner Brothers)
Jenny Ward Australia (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Ben Burtt, Matthew Wood WALL-E (Pixar / Walt Disney Pictures)
William R. Dean, David Husby The Day the Earth Stood Still (Twentieth Century-Fox)

For a complete list of nominees, click here

Discuss this news here...

Open in a new window/tab