Welcome to MI6 Headquarters

This is the world's most visited unofficial James Bond 007 website with daily updates, news & analysis of all things 007 and an extensive encyclopaedia. Tap into Ian Fleming's spy from Sean Connery to Daniel Craig with our expert online coverage and a rich, colour print magazine dedicated to spies.

Learn More About MI6 & James Bond →

`Quantum of Solace` nominated for Art Directors Guild award

11-Jan-2009 • Quantum Of Solace

"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," "Milk," "The Dark Knight" and "Slumdog Millionaire" are among the feature film nominees for the 13th annual Art Directors Guild Awards, which honor excellence in production design. The ADG announced nominations Friday morning in nine categories for films, TV and commercials, reports the LA Times.

Period film nominees are James J. Murakami for "Changeling," Donald Graham Burt for "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," David Gropman for "Doubt," Michael Corenblith for "Frost/Nixon" and Bill Groom for "Milk."

Vying in the fantasy film category are Nathan Crowley for "The Dark Knight," Guy Hendrix Dyas for "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull," J. Michael Riva for "Iron Man," James Bissell for "The Spiderwick Chronicles" and Ralph Eggleston for "Wall-E."

Contemporary film nominees are Jess Gonchor for "Burn After Reading," James J. Murakami for "Gran Torino," Dennis Gassner for "Quantum of Solace," [editors note, in 2007 "Casino Royale" was nominated for and won at the awards] Mark Digby for "Slumdog Millionaire" and Timothy Grimes for "The Wrestler."

On the TV front, nominees for one-hour single-camera series are Dan Bishop for "The Jet Set" episode of "Mad Men," Michael Wylie for the "Bzzzzzz" episode of "Pushing Daisies," Suzuki Ingerslev for the "Burning House of Love" episode of "True Blood," Tom Conroy for Episode 210 of "The Tudors" and Mark Worthington for the "When Betty Met Yeti" episode of "Ugly Betty."

Competing in the multi-camera television series category are John Shaffner for "The Peanut Reaction" episode of "The Big Bang Theory," Stephan Olson for the "Miracles" episode of "How I Met Your Mother," Greg Grande and Michael Wylie for Episode 4 of "Little Britain USA," Bernard Vyzga for the "Pimp My Ride" episode of "Rules of Engagement" and John Shaffner for the "A Jock Strap in Hell" episode of "Two and a Half Men."

Half-hour single-camera TV series nominees are Keith Ian Raywood and Teresa Mastropierro for the "Do Over" episode of "30 Rock," Suzuki Ingerslev for "In Treatment's" "Sophie Week One," Randy Ser for the "Bad Earl" episode of "My Name Is Earl," Michael G. Gallenberg for the "Weight Loss" episode of "The Office" and Joseph P. Lucky for "Weeds' " "Excellent Treasures."

Nominees in the TV movie or miniseries category are Jerry Wanek for "The Andromeda Strain," Gemma Jackson for "John Adams," Robb Wilson King for "Librarian 3," Yuda Acco for "Lone Rider" and Patti Podesta for "Recount."

The winners will be revealed at a gala ceremony Feb. 14 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. "Breaking Bad's" Bryan Cranston will host.

For a complete list, go to www.artdirectors.org.

Discuss this news here...

Open in a new window/tab