A compendium of three classic James Bond adventures will be released by Penguin Modern Classics later this year featuring 007's arch-nemesis...

Update (23/03/10): Confirmation of US paperback release.
Update (13/05/10):
US paperback cover artwork revealed.

Book Preview: The Blofeld Trilogy
15th April 2009 / 23rd March 2010 / 13th May 2010

On the back of updating the Modern Classics series of Ian Fleming's James Bond novels, publisher Penguin will be issuing a compendium featuring 007's arch-nemesis. The Blofeld Trilogy will include the last three full-length novels Ian Fleming saw published during his lifetime.

Author Nick Lezard will provide a new introduction to the book scheduled for release on 1st October 2009. The paperback will retail for £14.99 in the UK. In the USA, the title will be released on 28th September 2010 for $22.00.

Official Blurb (UK)
Ernst Stavro Blofeld is James Bond’s arch-nemesis: a deranged criminal mastermind with ambitions to bring the world to its knees in his pursuit of power. This collection brings together three novels featuring the ultimate Bond villain. First introduced in Thunderball, Blofeld’s plan to steal atomic bombs and hold the whole world to ransom leads to a thrilling chase in the Bahamas. On Her Majesty’s Secret Service sees Blofeld developing terrifying weapons - and destroying the one thing Bond holds most dear - and in You Only Live Twice, the shattered secret agent must get his revenge in one last, deadly encounter.

Official Blurb (USA)
Considered by fans to be the most emotionally intense of Ian Fleming's thrillers, these three novels feature 007's true nemesis: the relentless, nefarious Ernst Stavro Blofeld. Thunderball whisks Bond to the Bahamas, where Blofeld and the SPECTRE organization threaten to destabilize the world with two stolen atomic bombs. On Her Majesty's Secret Service features the thrilling Alpine ski chase that is so well remembered by fans of 007, and sees Bond's new wife killed by Blofeld. The British agent is sent into a tailspin that nearly destroys him before he's finally able to exact revenge in You Only Live Twice. Featuring all the action and intrigue of the Bond franchise with an extra dose of personal vendetta, this trilogy is a must for every fan of the greatest secret agent in literary history.

“Fleming has set his stamp on the story of action and intrigue. . . . His proper place in literature is with those demi-giants of an earlier day: Jules Verne, Rider Haggard, Conan Doyle.”—Kingsley Amis

Publisher: Penguin Modern Classics
Pages: 624 (UK) / 656 (USA)
Format: Paperback
RRP: £14.99 / $22.00
ISBN: 0141191724 / 978-0141191720
Released: 1st October 2009 (UK) / 28th September 2010 (USA)


Order Amazon UK (Paperback)

Order Amazon USA (Paperback)

Recent Articles - Literary
  • Book Review: The Notes
  • Ian Fleming's War
  • Ian Fleming's Inspiration
  • Ian Fleming - The Notes
  • The Spy Who Loved Me Folio Edition
  • The Man With The Golden Gun Radio Play
  • Ian Fleming Letters